Compare Lenders

Amicus Lending: Compare 30 Personal Loan Lenders

Last updated:

Published APR ranges, loan amounts, terms, fees and funding speeds for 30 U.S. lenders, with the caveats that matter before you compare an offer.

On this page

Lifeguard resting his hands on a red rescue tube from a tall stand, a steady safety net like comparing lenders after an amicus lending search
At a glance

30 personal loan lenders side by side

Lenders below are examples from the wider U.S. market, not necessarily part of our network. Figures come from each lender's site or major review sites when we last checked, so confirm the lender's disclosures before you apply.

LenderAPR rangeAmountsTermsMin. credit score
Universal Credit11.69%–35.99%$1,000–$50,00024–60 months560
Security FinanceNot disclosed$494–$2,600Not disclosedNot disclosed
Prosper8.99%–35.99%$2,000–$50,00024–72 months640
LendingPoint7.99%–35.99%$1,000–$36,50024–72 months600
Navy Federal Credit Union8.74%–18.00%$250–$50,000Up to 60 monthsNot disclosed
Rocket Loans7.99%–29.99%$2,000–$75,00036–60 months640 recommended
SoFi6.99%–35.49%$5,000–$100,00024–84 monthsNot disclosed
OneMain Financial11.99%–35.99%$1,500–$35,00024–60 monthsNot disclosed
Reprise Financial9.5%–36%$2,500–$35,00036–60 months540
Mariner Finance15.99%–35.99%$1,000–$25,00012–72 monthsNot disclosed
Happy Money8.95%–35.99%$5,000–$50,00024–84 months620
BMG Money19.99%–35.99%$500–$12,0006–60 monthsNone (FICO score not pulled)
Alliant Credit UnionFrom 9.49%$1,000–$100,00012–60 monthsNot disclosed
Upgrade7.74%–35.99%$1,000–$50,00024–84 months600
Upstart6.3%–35.99%$1,000–$75,00036–60 monthsNot disclosed
Lendmark Financial ServicesUp to 35.99%$2,000–$8,00012–72 monthsNot disclosed
Reach Financial5.99%–35.99%$3,500–$40,00024–60 months660
1st Franklin FinancialUp to 35.99%$3,500–$15,00015–60 monthsNot disclosed
Heights FinanceNot disclosed$500–$50,000Not disclosedNot disclosed
Avant9.95%–35.99%$2,000–$35,00024–60 months550
Achieve6.25%–35.99%$5,000–$50,00024–60 months560
PenFed Credit Union6.09%–17.99%$600–$50,000Up to 60 monthsNot disclosed
Oportun31.95%–35.95%$300–$10,00012–60 monthsNone (no credit history required)
Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)5.96%–35.99%$1,000–$75,00024–84 months600
Best Egg6.99%–35.99%$2,000–$50,00036–60 months600
Patelco Credit Union6.99%–17.90%$300–$100,000Up to 84 months680
World Finance33.90%–101.61%$450–$10,000Not disclosedNot disclosed
Regional Finance24%–35.99%$600–$45,00012–60 monthsNone
First Tech Federal Credit Union11.99%–18.00%$500–$50,00012–60 monthsNot disclosed
Kashable6%–35.99%$250–$30,0006–36 monthsNot disclosed

How to read this amicus lending comparison

People who search amicus lending often want to know how well-known lenders stack up before they share any details. The table above and the profiles below summarize published APRs, amounts, terms, fees and funding speeds for 30 U.S. lenders.

These 30 lenders are examples from the wider U.S. market. They are not necessarily lenders in our network, and a lender's appearance here does not mean it will see or answer your request. We are not a lender. Our free request form shares one request with lenders in a third-party network that handles requests from $500 to $5,000, and we do not know in advance which lender, if any, will review it. Each lender sets its own approval, APR, fees and terms.

Use the page as a yardstick rather than a shopping list. Many of the lenders below start above $1,000 or stretch terms to 84 months, which suits larger projects more than a short-term expense. Anyone searching amicus loans for that kind of cost should remember that requests through the network stay within $500 to $5,000. Readers who look up amicus lending reviews usually want the same thing: a reference point that makes an expensive offer easier to spot.

A few patterns stand out once all 30 profiles sit side by side:

  • Small minimums. Nine lenders start at $500 or less, led by Navy Federal and Kashable at $250.
  • $5,000 floors. SoFi, Happy Money and Achieve all start at $5,000, the top of the range the network handles.
  • Lower APR ceilings. Four credit unions show maximum APRs between 17.90% and 18.00%, though each requires membership.
  • Costs above 36%. Reprise Financial lists a 36% maximum, and World Finance shows up to 101.61% in one state example.

How we chose lenders and checked the figures

Figures come from each lender's own published ranges where available and from major review sites where a lender does not publish a number. Every figure is an estimate that can change at any time.

We picked lenders that people researching amicus lending and similar services commonly weigh for unsecured installment borrowing: online lenders, consumer finance companies with branch networks, credit unions and two employer-based programs. The order on this page is not a ranking or a recommendation.

When sources disagreed, we kept the lender's own figure where one existed and mention the other number in the profile. When a lender does not publish a figure, the profile says so instead of guessing. Lenders revise rates, fees and state lists often, so anyone researching amicus lending should confirm every number on the lender's own disclosures and in the loan agreement before signing.

If you arrived from amicus lending reviews, keep in mind that a borrower's rating describes the request experience, while each lender here sets its own pricing. Each profile covers the same ground, in plain language:

  • APR range and loan amounts
  • Repayment terms and any origination or administration fee
  • Funding speed and credit score notes
  • State availability, membership rules and one notable feature

Universal Credit

Universal Credit may suit borrowers with fair credit who want a larger installment loan and can accept a sizable upfront fee in exchange for quick funding after verification.

Published APRs on its personal loans run from 11.69% to 35.99% on $1,000 to $50,000, repaid over 24 to 60 months. The origination fee of 5.25%–9.99% has one of the highest floors on this page. Funding typically lands the next day, one business day after verification. Universal Credit's own site could not be checked, so these figures come from a major review site, which lists a 560 minimum score; another lists 580. Joint applications are not allowed, and the lender serves all 50 states but not Washington, DC.

Security Finance

Security Finance is a branch-based option for small fixed-payment personal loans in a dozen mostly Southern states, but it publishes very little about pricing.

Amounts run from $494 to $2,600, the closest fit on this page to the $500–$5,000 range behind a typical amicus lending request. The company does not publish its APR, terms, origination fee, minimum credit score or funding speed, so you would only learn the true cost from a written offer. Affiliates are licensed in AL, GA, ID, LA, MO, MS, OK, SC, TN, TX, UT and WI, and ranges vary by state. On the plus side, payments are fixed, with no balloon payments or prepayment penalties.

Prosper

Prosper may fit borrowers who want to apply with a co-borrower, since the lender accepts joint applications on loans from $2,000 up to $50,000.

APRs on Prosper personal loans range from 8.99% to 35.99%, terms from 24 to 72 months, and the origination fee from 1% to 9.99%. Prosper's own FAQ names a 640 minimum score, while a major review site lists 560, so treat the cutoff as uncertain. Money can arrive as soon as one business day after approval. A review site reports that Prosper is not available in Iowa, North Dakota or West Virginia.

LendingPoint

Borrowers with credit in the low 600s who need at least $1,000 may consider LendingPoint, which publishes APRs from 7.99% and funds as soon as the next business day.

The top APR is 35.99%, personal loan amounts reach $36,500, and terms run from 24 to 72 months. The origination fee goes up to 10%, and a review site notes that it is added to the loan amount by default, which means you pay interest on the fee itself. Review sites split on the minimum score: one says 600, another 640. LendingPoint lists Nevada and West Virginia as unavailable, and a review site adds CT, IA, ME, MD, NE, VT and DC.

Rocket Loans

Rocket Loans may suit borrowers with good credit who want money quickly and are comfortable choosing between just two repayment lengths.

Terms come in only two options, 36 or 60 months. APRs run from 7.99% to 29.99%, and the 7.99% floor includes an autopay discount. Personal loans start at $2,000 and reach $75,000, with an origination fee of up to 9.99%. Rocket recommends a 640 score. Funding can arrive the same day if the loan is finalized by 4 pm ET. Iowa, Maryland, Nevada, West Virginia and U.S. territories are excluded.

SoFi

SoFi is built for larger balances and strong credit, and its $5,000 minimum equals the very top of the range the network handles.

Someone weighing amicus lending options for a $1,500 bill would fall below that floor. SoFi personal loans carry APRs from 6.99% to 35.49%, amounts from $5,000 to $100,000, and terms from 24 to 84 months. Loans from SoFi Bank carry an origination fee of 0%–7%, while loans made through Cross River Bank carry 9.99%; paying an optional fee can lower the interest rate. SoFi does not publish a minimum score, though a review site says 690 or higher is usually needed.

Same-day funding is possible when the loan is approved and signed by 5:30 PM ET on a business day. Because SoFi's own rate pages could not be checked, the APR and amounts come from its disclosure on a comparison site. Not all rates and amounts are available in every state.

OneMain Financial

OneMain Financial may suit borrowers who prefer in-branch service or who can pledge a vehicle as collateral for a secured loan.

APRs on OneMain personal loans run from 11.99% to 35.99% on $1,500 to $35,000, though a review site lists a $30,000 maximum. Terms span 24 to 60 months. The fee depends on your state: either 1%–10% of the loan or a flat $25–$500. OneMain does not publish a minimum score, and a review site says it has none. Funding can arrive about an hour after signing with a debit card, or in one to two banking days by ACH.

Watch the state rules. A review site lists AK, AR, CT, MA, RI, VT and DC as unavailable, and some states set higher minimums, such as $3,000 in California and $3,100 in Georgia.

Reprise Financial

Reprise Financial may be worth a look for lower credit scores, with review data placing its minimum at 540, though its $2,500 floor rules out the smallest expenses.

The published APR range is 9.5% to 36%, so the top end can reach 36%, while a review site lists 9.99%–35.99% and a $25,000 maximum instead of $35,000. Terms run 36 to 60 months, with an origination fee of up to 6%, and money usually arrives the next business day after approval. Availability is narrower than most: a review site excludes CO, CT, HI, ME, MD, MA, NV, NJ, NY, PA, VT, WA, WV and DC, and Georgia borrowers face a $3,500 minimum.

Mariner Finance

Mariner Finance may suit borrowers who value a way out, because finance charges are waived if the loan is repaid within 15 days.

Its APR floor of 15.99% is one of the highest here, and the ceiling is 35.99%. Overall amounts run from $1,000 to $25,000, but online loans cover only $1,500 to $14,000; anything larger goes through a branch. Terms range from 12 to 72 months, and an origination fee may apply depending on the state. Mariner does not publish its minimum score or funding speed, and a review site reports availability in 29 states.

Happy Money

Happy Money focuses on paying off credit card debt and starts at $5,000, so it fits card consolidation better than a small one-time cost.

APRs run from 8.95% to 35.99% on personal loans of $5,000 to $50,000. Happy Money's site describes terms of two to seven years, while a review site says two to five. The fee range of 2%–12% and the 620 minimum score come from a review site, since the lender's site shows only a 3% example fee. Same-day funding is available, according to a review site. Happy Money says it does not lend in Iowa, and a review site adds Nevada.

BMG Money

BMG Money works through employer programs, so it may suit workers whose employer offers it and whose credit score would hold them back elsewhere.

Anyone who found BMG Money while researching amicus lending should know that eligibility depends on that employer link. Approval does not use a FICO score. APRs run from 19.99% to 35.99%, a high floor. Amounts range from $500 to $12,000, and terms from 6 to 60 months, though one part of the site says 6 to 48.

Many loans carry a one-time 5% origination fee. Funds can arrive immediately with a linked debit card, or the same day by ACH if signed by noon ET. Loans are offered only in states where BMG does business.

Alliant Credit Union

Alliant Credit Union may suit established members who want a no-fee loan, but new members must wait at least 90 days before they can borrow.

Alliant does not publish APR figures. A review site lists a starting APR of 9.49%, and no maximum is published. Personal loan amounts run from $1,000 to $100,000 over 12 to 60 months, with no origination fee and optional debt protection. Funding usually happens the same day once approved. The credit union serves all 50 states and does not publish a minimum credit score.

Upgrade

Upgrade may suit borrowers consolidating debt who want the lender to pay creditors directly, or applicants planning to add a co-applicant.

Upgrade personal loans carry APRs from 7.74% to 35.99%, and the origination fee from 1.85% to 9.99%. Upgrade's page lists $1,000 to $50,000, while a review site shows a $75,000 maximum. Terms run 24 to 84 months, and review sites place the minimum score at 600. Funds go out within one business day of clearing verifications. Upgrade is not available in Washington, DC, according to a review site, and certain offers are limited by state.

Upstart

Upstart may appeal to borrowers with a short credit history, because its approval model weighs the overall financial profile rather than the credit score alone.

APRs run from 6.3% to 35.99% on personal loans of $1,000 to $75,000, though a review site shows a 6.20% low end. Upstart's site lists 3- or 5-year terms, and a review site mentions a rare 7-year option. The fee range of 0%–12% comes from a review site; Upstart itself shows only an 8.15% example. No minimum score is published.

Funding can come as fast as one business day after approval. Upstart operates in all 50 states and DC, with state minimums of $3,100 in Georgia, $1,500 in Hawaii and $7,000 in Massachusetts.

Lendmark Financial Services

Lendmark Financial Services may suit borrowers in its 24 licensed states who need a mid-sized unsecured loan with no prepayment penalty.

Only the top APR, 35.99%, is published. Unsecured personal loans run from $2,000 to $8,000, with a $2,000 minimum in Florida, Louisiana and Mississippi and $3,000 elsewhere; larger amounts require collateral. Terms span 12 to 72 months, and origination or other fees may apply by state. Same-day loans may be available. Lendmark does not publish a minimum score. Its licensed states are AL, AZ, CA, CO, FL, GA, ID, KY, KS, LA, MD, MO, MS, NC, OH, PA, SC, TN, TX, UT, VA, WA, WI and WV.

Reach Financial

Reach Financial may suit borrowers with good credit who need at least $3,500 and want a fast decision on their application.

Reach's own site showed no readable figures, so these come from a major review site: APRs of 5.99% to 35.99%, amounts of $3,500 to $40,000, terms of 24 to 60 months, a fee of up to 8%, a 660 minimum score and next-day funding. A second review site lists a narrower 5.99%–31.79% APR range and a 5%–7.19% fee. Reach is not available in CO, CT, ME, NV, NH, TN, VT or WV.

1st Franklin Financial

For borrowers in ten Southern states, 1st Franklin Financial offers same-day approval and funding on loans of $3,500 or more.

Personal loans run from $3,500 to $15,000 over 15 to 60 months. Only the maximum APR, 35.99%, is published; the lender does not publish its lowest APR, origination fee or minimum score. Money can arrive in as little as a few hours when the application is complete by noon. Service is limited to AL, FL, GA, KY, LA, MS, SC, TN, TX and VA.

Heights Finance

Heights Finance may appeal to borrowers who want breathing room before the first bill, since new loans carry no payment for at least 30 days.

The lender advertises $500 to $50,000 "or more," while a review site says the maximum is usually $10,000. Heights does not publish APRs, terms, fees or a minimum score. Anyone who reaches Heights after an amicus lending search should ask for the APR in writing and whether interest builds during the payment-free period. Funding can arrive as soon as the same day after signing. Heights operates in AL, GA, IL, IN, KY, LA, MS, MO, OK, SC, TN, TX and WI, with state minimums from $400 to $1,000.

Avant

Avant may suit fair-credit borrowers, with review sites listing a 550 minimum score, though most of its customers have scores of 600 or more.

Avant personal loans range in APR from 9.95% to 35.99%, in amount from $2,000 to $35,000, and in term from 24 to 60 months. Avant charges an administration fee of up to 9.99%, which works like an origination fee when you compare APRs. Funding can arrive as soon as the next business day if the loan is approved by 4:30pm CT. The 550 score comes from review sites, not Avant's own page. A review site lists HI, IA, ME, MA, WA and WV as unavailable.

Achieve

Achieve may suit borrowers consolidating at least $5,000 of debt, since its minimum loan equals the top of the range the network handles.

Achieve personal loans carry APRs of 6.25% to 35.99% on $5,000 to $50,000, repaid over 24 to 60 months, with an origination fee of 1.99%–9.99%. Achieve says the minimum score is 560, while a review site says 640, and debt consolidation loans of $35,000 or more require a 660 score. Funds are sent in 24 to 72 hours. A review site lists CO, CT, HI, IA, ME, VT, WA, WV, WI and WY as unavailable.

PenFed Credit Union

PenFed Credit Union may suit borrowers with good credit who are willing to join a credit union, which can be done during the application itself.

PenFed's page showed blank APR fields, so the 6.09%–17.99% range comes from a review site and may be outdated. Personal loan amounts run from $600 to $50,000 with terms up to 60 months. There is no origination fee, and autopay trims the rate by 0.25%. Funding can come as soon as the next day after finalizing. Membership is available nationwide, and no minimum score is published.

Oportun

Oportun may suit borrowers with no credit history at all, but its APRs sit near the top of the market, so access comes at a high price.

A review site lists APRs of 31.95% to 35.95%, while Oportun's page shows only example rates, including 35.95% on unsecured loans. Unsecured personal loans range from $300 to $10,000, and secured loans reach $18,500. Terms run 12 to 60 months with biweekly payments, and an administrative fee of up to 10% applies.

Anyone comparing amicus lending options with a thin credit file should set that cost against the alternatives. Funding takes one to four days, according to a review site, which also lists CO, CT, IA, ME, MD, MA, NY, WA, WV and DC as unavailable.

Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)

Happen Bank is the new name of LendingClub Bank, and it may suit borrowers who want direct payment to creditors or a joint application.

The old LendingClub website now redirects to Happen Bank, so search for either name. Its 5.96% APR floor is the lowest on this page, and the ceiling is 35.99%. Personal loan amounts run from $1,000 to $75,000, terms from 24 to 84 months, and the origination fee from 0% to 8%. A review site lists a 600 minimum score and says funds are typically disbursed within 24 hours of approval. Some amounts, rates and terms may be unavailable in certain states.

Best Egg

Best Egg may suit borrowers with scores around 600 or higher who want a choice between an unsecured loan and a secured option.

Unsecured personal loan APRs run from 6.99% to 35.99%, and a review site lists 5.99%–29.99% for secured loans. Amounts range from $2,000 to $50,000 over 36 to 60 months, with an origination fee of 0.99%–9.99%. Money can arrive in as little as 24 hours, or one to three business days after verification. Best Egg excludes IA, NE, VT, WV, DC and U.S. territories, and sets higher minimums in Massachusetts ($6,500), Ohio ($5,001) and Georgia ($3,001).

Patelco Credit Union

Patelco Credit Union may suit members with strong credit, since review data lists a 680 minimum score alongside a low APR ceiling and no fees.

Patelco's own page lists only "up to $100k," so the APR range of 6.99%–17.90%, the $300 minimum and terms up to 84 months come from a review site, which also cites a 9.3%–11.45% minimum rate. There are no origination or application fees and no prepayment penalty. Loans can be funded the same day as approval. Members apply online, while non-members apply by phone or at a branch.

World Finance

World Finance offers small fixed-rate installment loans with fast decisions, but its published example APRs run far above 36%, making it one of the costliest options here.

World's Georgia example shows APRs from 33.90% to 101.61% on terms of 5 to 16 months, and other states differ. Amounts run roughly $450 to $10,000, with larger loans available against vehicle collateral. The fee is a flat $25–$100 or a percentage, depending on the state, and no general term range or minimum score is published.

Same-day loans are advertised, and most applicants are approved in about an hour. No other personal loan on this page publishes an APR that high, so anyone comparing amicus lending options for a small expense should weigh a World offer against the lower-cost lenders above.

Regional Finance

Regional Finance may suit borrowers in its 20 licensed states who want online prequalification backed by a branch network, and it lists no minimum credit score.

Regional's site gives no APR or terms, so the 24%–35.99% APR range and 12- to 60-month terms come from a review site. That 24% floor is high. Amounts run from $600 to $45,000, though the review site lists $35,000, and limits vary by state. An origination fee may apply but is not quantified. Funding can come in as fast as 24 hours. Licensed states are AL, AZ, CA, FL, GA, ID, IL, IN, LA, MO, MS, NC, NM, OK, SC, TN, TX, UT, VA and WI.

First Tech Federal Credit Union

First Tech Federal Credit Union may suit members who want a loan with no application, origination or prepayment fees and an APR ceiling of 18.00%.

First Tech advertises rates as low as 11.99%, and the 18.00% maximum is the federal credit union cap. A review site lists a wider 6.99%–18.00% range and terms of six months to seven years. Personal loan amounts run from $500 to $50,000 over 12 to 60 months, and funding can arrive as soon as the same day. Membership is required, and no minimum score is published.

Kashable

Kashable is available only through participating employers, so it suits workers whose employer offers it and who prefer repaying through payroll deduction.

Kashable personal loans carry APRs from 6% to 35.99%, amounts from $250 to $30,000, and terms from 6 to 36 months. Kashable does not publish a fee range; its examples show a $225 fee on $5,000 and a $1,500 fee on $30,000. Funding speed and minimum score are not published. A federal employee program covers all states, DC and Puerto Rico except West Virginia, and active military members are not eligible.

How to compare offers side by side

Line offers up by APR for the same amount and term, then check total repaid, fees, funding timing and state rules, because the cheapest-looking monthly payment is often not the cheapest personal loan.

APR folds required fees into a yearly cost, but the total repaid shows what the loan costs in dollars. A representative example: borrow $2,500 for 18 months at 22.99% APR with no origination fee, and you would pay about $165.52 per month and about $2,979.43 in total. If two offers for the same amount and term show different payments, the higher one carries a higher APR or extra fees. All figures here are estimates; your offer depends on the lender, your credit, income and state.

What to checkWhy it mattersWhere to find it
APRCaptures interest plus required fees for a fair comparisonLoan offer and Truth in Lending disclosure
Total repaidShows the full dollar cost over the termDisclosure, or monthly payment times months
Origination feeMay be deducted from the funds you receiveFee section of the agreement
Prepayment termsDecides whether paying early saves interestLoan agreement
Funding timingMatters when a bill has a due dateOffer details and lender FAQ

Fees deserve a closer look than most borrowers give them. Many lenders above charge between roughly 1% and 10% up front, and our guide to how an origination fee works shows why a deducted fee shrinks the cash you receive. Our page on estimated APR ranges and sample payments sets the network's typical range of about 6% to 35.99% next to payment examples, and the personal loan calculator lets you test any offer's amount, term and APR.

Where you borrow matters too. Credit unions on this page show APR ceilings at or below 18.00% but require membership, while online lenders often fund faster. Our comparison of bank vs online lender options walks through that trade-off. If you plan to use our request form for amicus loans between $500 and $5,000, checking the usual eligibility requirements first can save a declined request. Anyone weighing an amicus lending request against a direct application to a lender above can use the same checklist for both.

Remember that using the request form is free and carries no obligation. If none of the offers you receive beats what you found elsewhere, you can decline every one. People comparing amicus loans with a lender on this page should hold every offer to the same APR and total-cost test before signing.

Quick answers

Comparison questions

Is every lender on this page part of the network that reviews my request?
No. The 30 lenders here are examples from the wider U.S. market and are not necessarily in our network. Our request form goes to lenders in a third-party network that handles $500 to $5,000, and we do not know in advance which lender, if any, will review a given request or make an offer.
Why do some lenders show figures that are not published?
Some lenders publish only loan amounts or a maximum APR and share the rest in a written offer. Where we could not find a reliable figure on the lender's site or a major review site, the profile says the lender does not publish it rather than guessing. Ask for those details in writing before you sign anything.
Can a lender with a $5,000 minimum help with a smaller expense?
Usually not. SoFi, Happy Money and Achieve set their minimum at $5,000, so a $1,500 repair falls below their floor, and borrowing more than you need adds interest. For smaller amounts, lenders with lower minimums or the $500 to $5,000 range handled through the network may fit better.
Should I avoid a lender whose APR can go above 36%?
Treat it with caution. A personal loan above 36% APR, such as the 101.61% in one World Finance state example, costs far more over time than most offers on this page. Compare the total repaid with at least one lower-APR option, and consider whether an amicus lending request or a credit union loan could cover the same need.
On our site

Related pages

Next step

Ready to see what lenders can offer?

One short request, no fee to use our service and no obligation to accept an offer.

Start your request
Borrow $500–$5,000 · No obligationApply